Kilby sent in this double puzzler:
“When I wrote Leigh Rubin to point out that one of the three checkers should already have been doubled to form a ‘king’, he mentioned that he had submitted the comic to the syndicate with a caption, but that this caption never made it to the published version.”
Submit a caption that might fit this cartoon.
Assuming the pieces can move (and capture) only according to their own “rules”, which side would win the endgame shown in the comic?
The knight, as white, should have the first move. In checkers, red goes second. Now, if we assume the knight is at a1, then the checker at c1 should have been made a king. So, we need to assume that the knight is at h8, and the red checkers have to start by moving away down the board.
OR, you can assume the red checker has just gotten to c1, and is being crowned as we speak; this puts the knight at a1.
The history of these games can also be discussed in the comments.
By the way, I’m on chess.com as zbicyclist; anyone like a game?